Alec Balmer Monochrome 2012 Results

We had another excellent entry from our members this year, with a great variety of subjects. Our judge was Paul Williamson LRPS. He scrutinised the prints in depth on our giant daylight print board and did a very in depth critique of the images, advising us how and where to improve them.

We will show here a selection of images that were entered and the main winners. Firstly the list of award winners.

First Place

Paul Matthews                                                     ‘Coots Mating’

Second Place

Paul Matthews                                                     ‘Ventilation Shaft, The hubs, Sheffield’

Third Place

Noel George                                                          ‘Peace Lillies in Vase’

Very Highly Commended

Isabel Hewitt                                                        ‘Reflections at Redcar’

Irene Drummond                                                 ‘Harpist’

Denis Foy                                                               ‘Staithes’

Highly Commended

Tony Jones                                                            ‘Escape Route’

Tony Jones                                                            ‘Desert Mountains’

Alan Jones                                                              ‘Pier Head’

Alan Shufflebotham                                              ‘Tea Lady’

Noel George                                                           ‘Tom Gill’


Sean O’Brien                                                         ‘Queen of Hearts’

Sean O’Brien                                                         ‘Beth’

Alan Jones                                                             ‘The Eyes’

Eddie Foy                                                              ‘Matt, Train Driver’

Eddie Foy                                                              ‘View of Down town NYC’

Martin Reece                                                        ‘Goth Portrait’

Noel George                                                          ‘Daffodils’

John Thompson                                                    ‘Glacier Dawn’

Alan Shufflebotham                                             ‘Contrast’